Monday, April 11, 2011

Indie Lit Awards

The Independent Literary Awards are the brain child of Wallace from Unputdownables. What are the Independent Literary Awards you ask?

The Independent Literary Awards are book awards given by literary bloggers. Lit bloggers write about books and literary related items. They are the fastest growing form of publicity in the literary world, though most are still independently run and do not receive compensation for their reviews or recommendations. All judges and panelists for theses awards are completely independent and do not receive compensation for reviews nor their work on the award board.

This year, I am leading the mystery genre panel. This is the first year that a mystery Indie Lit Award will be given. The other genres covered by the Indie Lit Awards are:
Biography/Memoir *
Literary Fiction
Poetry *
Speculative Fiction

* = new genre represented in the 2011 awards year.

Nominations are open to book bloggers who do not make their income through the sales of books (i.e. not authors, publishers, or publicists) — hence “independent” from the publishing industry. You must provide a blog address when nominating to prove that you have a currently running book blog. Nominations will be accepted September 1, 2011- December 31, 2011.


Post a Comment